Hi-Ho Hi-Ho It’s off to work I go…

On Mondays I have to drop my son off at nursery so I need to take the car to work.

On Tuesday I have to drop my son off at nursery so I need to take the car to work.

On Wednesday I do the shopping at Tesco on the way home so I need to take the car to work.

On Friday I finish early and I need to get home quickly so I take the car to work.

On Thursdays I can ride my bike to work.

It is only about 6 miles and I usually take the CX bike. Half a mile is fun stuff on farm tracks and the rest is chasing buses into Middleton. However, through the witchcraft that is Google Earth, I’ve found an off road route from my doorstep that will get me to within a mile of the office. Awesome! (as they say in bicycling circles). I thought it may be a bit rubbish as it would be through Alkrington Woods which legend has it is a hive of scum and villainy – like Moss Eisley but with puddles and flashers – but it had to be more exciting than trundling along Manchester Road with the No. 74.

So this morning I dug the full susser out of the shed and set off into the bad lands… and was delighted to discover a few miles of single track that popped out behind the washing up liquid factory and at no point was I mugged or shown a greasy cock.

You take what you can get if you can’t get out much and I’ll have this.

Roll on next Thursday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hi-Ho Hi-Ho It’s off to work I go…

  1. trio25 says:

    Alky woods was like that when I was growing up, I wasn’t allowed there. But riding through a couple of times on the way to my mums and they seem to have changed!

  2. So you’re a Miggy Girl?

  3. terrahawk says:

    I’m stoked that you’ve found an awesome new ‘line’ to work, dude.

  4. It’s the radness dude. I don’t know whether to session, pin, send or own
    it.

    I suspect I’ll just ride along it as fast as I can so I can get home for
    my tea.

Leave a Reply

