Should I be cross?

Blimey! I actually got to ride my bike for a bit earlier this week!

After almost 2 weeks of eating cheese and drinking gin I thought it would be a good idea to do a cyclo cross race. I’ve only done one cross race before. That was 2 years ago and was my first outing on my cross bike. I thoroughly enjoyed it but, as my life has a habit of getting in the way, I didn’t do another one until this weekend. Indeed I must be the only bloke who has organised more cyclo cross races than he has competed in.

I set off for Todmorden with a clear set of aims.

1) Do not come last.

2) Do not DNF.

3) Do not make a tit of myself.

4) Try and enjoy it.

5) Try and say hello to a few people.

I’m pleased to say the I succeeded on all counts. The only downside to the entire day was when the lady at sign in asked if I was a Belgian. My response was “err…no” because I didn’t fully understand the question. If I had been paying attention I would have twigged that she was asking me if I was a member of the elite cyclo cross brotherhood “Her Come The Belgians” (think JedI Knights with lycra pants). I am a member. If I had said “yes” I would have saved myself £13. Bugger. If she had seen me spitting and coughing at the finish line it would have been very obvious that I was phlegmish. (Geddit?)

Some evidence of my efforts captured by Joolz Dymond

 

The day after was A Hit The North preview ride. 34 turned up. It was awesome. More details and other good stuff at www.hitthenorth.net .

However, one thing that dawned on me was that the HTN circuit is way tougher than the Tod CX. All the people interviewed on the British Cycling video were saying how hard Tod was… well, ladies and gentlemen you should sign up and help yourselves to some proper suffering.

To round off the week my Here Comes The Belgians team kit arrived. So next time I get asked it is written on my head to remind me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

